The Roadtrip

Standard

I tasted dirt blowing in from the open window,

No rain in weeks and we were all thirsty now

Was a drought they said on the radio

The wheels were turning, turning like

Some old song I’d heard playing hours ago,

Before Sadie lost her lunch,

Before we’d made that last stop.

Wish we’d just stayed in the car but it’s too late now

We can’t undo what’s been done;

Brian is a big man and his legs are scrunched in

The backseat and we’re all thirsty

 

There’s no sign to show us what’s ahead,

But we all know where this road leads

They say the Devil’s in the details, but I

Say the Devil’s in the deeds

Again, some song reminded me of a childhood memory

I wish I were a kid again, that we’d just

Stayed in the car but it’s too late now

I’m not sure how far we’ve come but

But they’re telling me to throw out the gun

I tasted dirt blowing in from the open window

And thought of Brian telling us this was going to be fun

 

Words, like presumption, hung heavy in the air

I swallowed hard to push the guilt down into my belly

That man barely bled but he was still just as dead

Brian’s long legs stepped the fastest back to the car

He told us all to shut up and we did

Now I keep tasting dirt and we’re all thirsty

I think this drought will never leave us

2 responses »

Leave a comment