Into the Blue

Standard

medium_5158125604

 

Pigtails and polyester skirts, dreams as big as the sky

Believed she’d ride in hot air balloons, meet the perfect guy

Rose-colored glasses, worn until her eyes shaded pink

A grown woman now, in a dark corner with a drink, unsatisfied

To ride the tide of someone else’s wave, embittered

Shadows follow her from her heart’s shallow grave;

 

Singularly unable to understand her metered path, distance

Between the reasons, beyond the reach of her grasp;

An insignificant bubble in a stream of carbonated dreams,

Floating down an open drain to an unforgiving sea

 

 

(photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/nomadic_state_of_mind/5158125604/”>NomadicStateOfMind</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;)

12 responses »

  1. As always with your pieces , this has depth and gives the reader the ability to find and feel from their own psyche these perfectly crafted emotional windows of our souls, Steve

    • I appreciate you so much for saying that. These things come in quiet moments and even in the rush of chaos, but they stay with me until I write them down. I have no doubt you can relate 🙂

  2. Beautiful as always. Do these take you awhile, or does it just flow? I’ve heard some poetry can take days, weeks, YEARS to be perfected. Depends on the author, of course. I don’t write poetry (I’ve tried, it just comes out wrong), but I enjoy yours. 🙂

    • I’ve had poems that I’ve started and not finished for a couple of years, but most of mine come quickly and fully, with only minor editing. I love poetry because it’s form can be as free as the writer chooses 🙂 Thanks always for sharing your thoughts and commenting Sean. I always value what you have to say.

Leave a Reply

