Fearless

Standard

medium_4744236187

 

Impatience circles about me,

I crave the electric current of life;

One moment still haunts, drifts

out of the shadows from time to time

to remind me why I am unsated;

 

The labor room, a newborn in a bassinet,

my body exhausted until the soul began

to pull away; no angels there to greet me,

no demons, either;…still haunts…

Not the leaving, but the complacency of the spirit…

unconcerned with letting go…

 

In the remaining pools of my existence I hunger

for the splash of life’s vibe, and in this I am

Fearless

 

 

(photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/abbybatchelder/4744236187/”>abbybatchelder</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;)

9 responses »

  1. I can see this from the poet’s perspective as to metaphor. however when I think of a child first born, he or she would be undaunted by the world and would certainly be fearless. for me as to a child first born, it certainly wasn’t that of fearless but fear in regards to all the pressures – like losing a job,,,etc.. this piece has a nice flow it.

  2. You have tasted the peace (complacency) of spirit that has no expectation, and the relentless hunger of ego that is fearless in wanting more; Our spirit inhabits flesh to know this experience and the angles look with curiosity never having experienced it.

  3. Pingback: Truthful and fearless, that’s what’s he said. | seetheprettylights

Leave a Reply

