Of Bridges and Bugs

Standard

medium_430806926

 

I think about those bridges in Madison County,

about a movie they inspired, about the man and the woman

finding love in one another for a while.

 

I think about the choices they made.

They both wanted the same thing. He offered her his world,

but she chose her wedding ring.

 

All the seasons from her life to death,

how many times her heart must have ached

for a man that crossed her path perchance –

It’s not often fate makes a mistake…

 

I remember she gripped the door handle,

a single life-changing moment of time, and

like a lazy day spent in the sun, she let this one pass her by.

 

When I was young I judged her harsh, said

she was a fool for letting that man in, that she

deserved the regret of a thousand years;

she should have no rest in her chosen sin.

 

Now I am of an age – no longer young but not yet old.

Should I be given a taste from her bitter well, would I stay,

be the good wife, in appearance and duty and

do what’s right?

 

White knuckles grabbing the handle of the door,

would I open it and run into the arms of ‘More;’

or would I sit, pressing bottom to chair,

resign myself to always be there?

 

Through death or distance or giving up,

through bitterness or fear or the liar’s cup,

through all that there is and all that will be,

Regret washes down with certainty,

so whether to stay or whether to go,

the heart follows love, no matter how far;

one can be free to fly in the dark

or one can be a firefly trapped in a jar

 

 

***photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/chanc/430806926/”>Christopher Chan</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a>***

5 responses »

  1. I love the movie. It’s so romantic and, while I respect her decision, I wince every time I watch it when she chooses to let him go. After all, “this kind of certainty comes but just once in a lifetime.” As I’ve aged, I’ve learned to follow my heart, even when it’s a leap into the dark. 🙂

    • Oh my, when you get a chance, give it a whirl…honestly, I’d rather watch Gran Torino (which Clint Eastwood stars in and directs) rather than this particular film (which Eastwood also stars in directs), but it’s a wonderful story of life and passion and choices…

  2. it’s the last 3 lines I’m settling on. each one conveys a different element. the first as I see it as being overly optimistic. the second could mean that love can be found in the darkness – ones mentality persay. thirdly that could refer to stereotypes – like how a blonde is referred to as. it can leave them trapped in that stereotype and never be able to find love. just takes Sheila, ya know I like playing with them.

Leave a Reply

