The Witching Hour

Standard

scary pumpkin

Everybody’s got one, just after midnight and before the morning sun

Time seems to slow, shadows begin to dance, the Devil’s in the details

And you’re living on chance

 

I have a witching hour, thirty-three past three

In the middle of the night, this hour calls to me

Wakes me from pleasant rest to taunt me in the dark

It’s my turn, it seems, for the haints to choose to haunt

 

Maybe there’s a chill, a strangeness in the air; the mood’s

A little different, and you know something’s there

Hiding in a corner of your cozy little room

Your eyes play tricks on you – is that a shadow or a broom?

 

When you hear a thump in the attic

When the TV turns to static

When the gooseflesh dots the skin

It’s that time again

No need to wonder or ask why

Like me, like so many mournful nights

There’s no way you can deny

You sense the grief, a darker power

You’ve been awakened to the witching hour

 

 

Image courtesy of MicroSoft ClipArt

7 responses »

    • I thought you might like this one 🙂 BTW: I really do wake up at 3:33 a.m. on a fairly regular basis – it started when we lived in an apartment building in downtown Memphis, TN many years ago – was previously an old hotel and some claim haunted, in case you needed an extra creep vibe!

      • That is creepy! Chills. It’s like when I saw the movie The Conjuring. In it, the clocks stop at the same time every night, and the demons come out to play. I can’t remember what the time was now, but I DID wake up that night at that exact time. I kid you not. Of course, the scientist in me knows it’s because it was on my brain, but the non-scientist in me got a bit creeped out…

      • I did not, nor will I watch that movie. I’ve said it before – I don’t handle scary well. Psycho is about as scary as I get (the old one in B&W)! My husband went to see it and it creeped him out, too, and he LOVES scary movies. That’s weird that you woke up at the time in that movie! That would have totally freaked me out 🙂

Leave a Reply

