The Yearning

Standard

medium_5152706020

I took the first step, struggling on feeble legs and allowed the weight of my body to fold me like an accordion to the floor. You should have been there, to catch my fall, to thwart my attempt to remain strong when weakness threatened my porous soul. A rapture of sorts, I was taken up in a cloud heavy with confusion.

Uncertainty cast a long shadow and I found myself huddling in its darkest corner. You were once the light that rescued me. How has my independence come to this place, of need and requisition for supplication? And would that prayer be answered, even if blood flowed from the worn flesh of my knees?

Significant, in that way one reaches epiphany from blunder, I accepted the profusion of the unknown. One silent sky above me echoed the glorious breath shared between your lips and mine. Sundry needs ensued.

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/malexgal/5152706020/”>AlexandraGalvis</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

3 responses »

  1. There are questions which arise in our life…the deeper ones which have few if any answers…this made me think of those unanswered questions and the quest for that supportive hand.

  2. I see it as a sacrifice a writer has to make. one could almost see it as a quiet poet getting up to read his work the very first time. all that stuff that runs through their mind of what could go wrong. just a take.

Leave a Reply

