Christmastime

Standard

This one is for you, M.G. Edwards. Merry Christmas!

medium_3960793799

I was asked to write a piece about happiness and cheer

With lines of light and love, no grief or despair

I struggled to find the words that led to hopeful rhyme

Could I find no joy to write of here at Christmastime?

 

I dream of snow in mounds, but the sun is shining bright

Hot chocolate without a chill somehow doesn’t seem right

The lawn is decorated with yellow dandelions

Shouldn’t it feel like winter here at Christmastime?

 

Human failings bring to pass all that’s wrong with the world

If I could only return to days before innocence unfurled

Drifts of painful memories slow the rise of a joyful tide

Does my soul have a hope of healing here at Christmastime?

 

Perhaps I need to begin anew, give myself a fresh start

Find the spirit of the season by looking to the heart

What if the miracle I’m looking for is mine?

Is it too much to hope for here at Christmastime?

 

I think I’ll take the chance, look for a star to guide

Seek the hand of God, and in his Son abide

With one baby’s birth, joy and love I’ll find

Tis the beauty of sweet grace here at Christmastime

 

(PhotoPin Credit: photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/33369836@N08/3960793799/”>home_clewis</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;)

13 responses »

  1. Yeah! I’m so excited, Sheila! I’m feeling warm Christmas tingling all over. Thanks for sharing the spirit of Christmas with me in Thailand! You made my season. 🙂

    • Our winter has felt more like spring here and not at all as it should at Christmas! I can’t imagine how much stranger it would feel in another country, the traditions being so different, and yet the sentiment remains the same. Glad you approved of the poem! 🙂

    • Thank you – glad you enjoyed it. The busyness of this season and of life in general can really get us down – I was glad I was asked to write something cheerful – I had to slow down myself and focus on what it really means.

  2. Pingback: Do They Know It’s Christmas? | Eradica

Leave a Reply

