Untitled

Standard

How does one give a name to something so horrific?

medium_4027889055

I will feel this tragedy and it will sit with me,

As I have breakfast with my children tomorrow;

As I drive to the post office to mail Christmas packages;

It will be on my heels as I run on the treadmill at the gym;

It will seep into my meditation, form the tears of my prayers

It will blend into the white noise of music and chatter as my home

Fills with visitors on Christmas morn;

As the laughter of my children echoes through the rooms;

I will feel it and it will sit with me.

 

(PhotoPin: photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonythemisfit/4027889055/”>Tony Fischer Photography</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;)

 

 

13 responses »

  1. There have been a lot of posts about this tragedy. Yours hits home. Every time I think things are bad, I’ve stopped and thought – could be worse. Thanks for this.

    • It’s incomprehensible and these are my first feelings. I am one of those people who absorb everything and then it builds into words that eventually spill onto the page. This will no doubt haunt me for a long time to come. Thank you for commenting Julie. You are having a rough time right now and so is your sister, and the world is full of tragedies that will never cease. Your heart and focus is with your sister, as it should be. Sometimes we feel guilty for concentrating on our own problems, but you shouldn’t and I hope you don’t. Your reality is that your sister is fighting for her life, and though we say “things could be worse” when we see something as tragic as the school shooting and people losing their children, but sometimes things are pretty bad in our individual lives, too. My heart goes out to all those suffering, in any capacity today.

  2. Innocents victims of madness.Our hearts are broken ,our eyes are in tear ,our prayers.with the families l can’t imagine so much evil in one person’s ill mind.Jalal

Leave a Reply

