Yes

Standard

 

alcoholic beverages,alcoholic drinks,alcohols,bars,beverages,cocktails,drinking glasses,drinks,glasses,martinis,olives,photographs,toothpicks

Yes, you can be my Vodka, as you surely ease my pain;

Your love provides the comfort from the pelting rain

I’ll share my loving lips, my thirst is quenched in you,

I’ll drink you full forever more, I find my soul in you

If my heart should ever ache, I’ll pour you full once more

You sate my thirst through and through, for it is you I adore

 

26 responses »

  1. Pingback: Bittersweet Perfection – A Rainy Romantic Monday Post | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: Romantic Monday – Ode To Erik Estrada « H.E. ELLIS

  3. this looks like a very smooth version compared to what Charles Bukowski would do. but your version shows that there can be a just a little romantic edge with having a drink of vodka.

  4. Lovely as always. The vodka association brings interesting meanings to different people, I suspect, depending on how you view or use (or don’t) vodka. If you are alcohol addicted, this would suggest a different kind of love, to if you use it as a tipple from time to time. Interesting…

    • Thanks always for coming by and commenting. In this case, a person is replacing the vodka, giving all that comfort through the flesh instead of the bottle – at least that’s my take…

      • I have some experience of alcoholic family members, and vodka has been the drink of choice, so for me, it means slightly different.

      • I’m sorry to hear that, and yes I can see how you’d have a different view. As we’ve discussed before, poetry meanings are part intent (by the writer) and part interpretation (by the reader)… that’s what I love about it…

      • Thats all part of the fun of poetry, and also how you know you have something, when different people can get different things out of it.

      • I’m sorry to hear that, and yes I can see how you’d have a different view. As we’ve discussed before, poetry meanings are part intent (by the writer) and part interpretation (by the reader)… that’s what I love about it…

  5. Pingback: Saturday Poetry Sampler #4 – Make It Real « Lyrical Anarchy

  6. Pingback: I’M SORRY TOO – A ROMANTIC MONDAY POST « hastywords

Leave a Reply

