Storm

Standard

 clouds,nature,Photographs,rays,storm clouds,storms,sunrays,sunshine,weather

A shift in the atmosphere, a transition, provocative this one.

 

A twisting angry wind grabbed hold, refusing to let go.

 

Should have been seconds, maybe minutes, never hours or days without a reprieve.

 

We were all different after those winds blew in.  The air was clean but changed.

 

Never again did we look at one another the same.

 

 

Sometimes the storm comes from within – sometimes it’s a literal storm. It’s amazing how strengthened we are after surviving either of these. Penny for your thoughts…

 

 (Image courtesy of Microsoft Clipart)

 

 

32 responses »

  1. I agree. The expression “the calm after a storm” is both literal and figurative. Lovely words. And I like the image you displayed. When I was little, I used to think those were rays coming down from heaven. Can you believe I was ever that sweet? Or that young?

  2. To me it reads more interesting if you don’t think of it as a weather storm but a metaphor for some kind of event with people (although obviously it works well for both).

    Interesting that you use the phrase “penny for your thoughts”, I must look up the origin of this phrase. I’ve never heard it much over here.

    • Elliot: You must have crawled into my mind because a storm amongst people was exactly what I had in mind 🙂
      Once you mentioned looking up the phrase “a penny for your thoughts” I decided to do so and discovered it was attributed to an Englishman from wayyyy back – I had no clue about that….

      • I knew it had English origins because the penny is old English currency (well actually still in use now), but I didn’t know where / when exactly.

  3. That’s a storm for you – beautiful, majestic phenomenon of Nature, and deadly at the same time… No matter: internal or external. Both of these can either make you or break you. And only YOU decide which it will be.

    Those sunrays bursting through the dark clouds are sings. Of hope, I would like to think. Just as the storm itself can be a sign… Layer upon layer of meaning in this post of yours 🙂

    • I felt very strongly about this one and was earnestly trying to weave the idea of life’s storms into it – very rewarding to see you and others felt the meaning I was going for. Thank you for stopping in 🙂

  4. dark winds of turmoil
    crush not dreams held true and dear
    fires of pure gold

    “…Since, oh! whate’er my future fate,
    Shall joy or woe my steps await,
    Tempted by love, by storms beset,
    Thine image I can ne’er forget…”

    To a Beautiful Quaker (1806) by: George Gordon Byron (Lord Byron)

  5. definitely relate to this on both fronts. the storm from within and the storm of a literal one can both occur separately, but when you bring the two together it can create a whole new one until it can be expressed effectively. such as being little puppies as in to the word. just a thought here to be considered. hope your day will be a great one. coffee down and out to the grind:))

      • i just thought i’d tell you, i’m now following carrie. i’ve got others yet to follow from the shout out but i’m getting there. i just wanna kinda give a nudge to check out “hummingbird on front porch” as i have a feeling you will really like it. it’s your favorite romantic type of spin.

      • That’s great! I’ve got to catch up on reading the bloggers I follow – I’ve been so busy getting ready for my kids’ birthday, getting them started in school this year and trying to fit a little writing in here and there… I will definitely check your piece 🙂

  6. Great one, Sheila. It’s short, but says a lot, and can mean something different depending on how you look at it. A literal storm. An emotional storm. An argument between people. A cat with a ball of yarn, but only because I like cats 😉

    • Hi Mike! Can you please describe how you see those storms as a cat with a ball of yarn? I’m trying to visualize that right now, but without much success 🙂

      Greetings from Poland!

      • Hi, Celt! Nice to meet you.

        A cat strikes a ball of yarn with the fury of a sudden storm, tossing it about like ship on an angry sea. When its energy is spent, it leaves destruction and chaos in its wake. Those affected by the storm recover and know peace, until it strikes again 🙂

        But really I just like cat imagery and try to conjure it when I can 😉

    • Glad you liked it – I always look forward to your thoughts you know… a cat with a ball of yarn represents an especially entertaining storm of sorts… both an internal and external conflict emerging and probably ending up with their human getting involved at some point… who shall be the victor in this classic faceoff? The cat, the yarn or the human? lol…

      • I think victory would belong to the cat. The ball of yarn would likely have its entrails spilled all over the place, while the human would find himself unable to knit a sock.

  7. You seem to have a gift of some kind that enables you to place words in a sequence that aligns with the readers mind and thoughts and the commonality that connects us all. I love storms by the way. When I was just a little kid my dad would take me in the car with him to drive through stormy weather. We were the first “storm chasers” I guess.

    • I believe that’s one of the nicest things anyone has ever said about my writing – thank you truly! I happen to enjoy storms myself, even though I was stuck on the side of the road one time with my 3 year old in a tornado. I certainly love the flashes of lightning from my front porch and the way the earth feels and smells renewed after a storm. Sounds as if your dad did some pretty neat stuff with you.

      • Wow, in a tornado with your child must have been completely off the terror scale. I hope neither of you were injured. I’ve been in one and on the edge of another by myself and that was frightening enough for me. I also been through a number of hurricanes and if I’m offered a choice I’d much rather be in the hurricane than the tornado.

      • It was terrifying (for me). He was as calm as could be, saying “It’s gonna be ok.” What I realized was how difficult it is to actually leave your vehicle and get into a low-lying area or ditch like they say to do, and the reason is because of the hail – The hail that was falling was rather large in size and coming down so hard I was afraid it would injure us if we got out in it. Fortunately, it passed over quickly and we were unharmed, but the car was shaking and it was so dark that for a moment it appeared to be night – then, when it cleared it was the brightest day you could hope for. I’ve never experienced a hurricane, but the idea of that much water coming in to land is pretty scary to me.

Leave a Reply

