Celebration and Shout-Outs!

Standard

People silhouettes on globe

One of the greatest bonuses to blogging is the opportunity to interact with some awesome people. In the world of bloggers who are also writers of fiction, poetry and songs there are some very creative folks who endlessly inspire me. What I love is that we may all come from different backgrounds, be of different cultures, straight, gay, Christian, atheist, believe in aliens, believe in nothing or everything – doesn’t matter. We can read one another’s work and judge the work, allowing it to stand for itself, its creativity and style. When I read something that a writer has poured their big ole writer’s heart into, I don’t care if you have neon green hair and decorate your square foot of Earth with spaghetti noodles. I’m reading your words – maybe they’re a direct reflection of you, maybe not. You can be as anonymous as you want in this regard.

 

I’ve written about writer support before, but this goes deeper. This goes to respect – for the work, no matter your politics or religion, social standing or economic status. If I hadn’t started blogging I would have missed out on YOU, and I would never want that!

 

I’m a little over-the-top excited because I’ve hit a milestone – surpassing 10,000 views to my blog and I want to thank some folks. So let’s celebrate together! Each one of you is topnotch in my book, wonderful to share your ideas with and chat with from time to time. I’m grateful in every way that you have stopped by at some point or another with a kind word or a ‘like’ to a post.

amazed,anime,avatars,cropped images,cropped pictures,emotions,facial expressions,females,girls,kids,manga,people,persons,PNG,shocked,surprised,teenagers,teens,transparent backgrounds,women

 (me, when I saw my view count!)

Some of you have been such amazing supporters of my blog that I think some shout-outs are in order!

 

Carrie Rubin: Okay folks, if you’re not following her blog, The Write Transition, you are missing out on a witty, funny, diabolical mind. She will soon be a published author of a medical thriller but in reading her blog you’ll be convinced her forte is humor. I can’t wait to read her novel and see the other side of this brilliant chick!

 

Mike Schulenberg: His Realms of Perilous Wonder blog is nothing short of genius. This fabulous human is entertaining, intelligent, funny and very considerate. I’ve got a feeling his WIP is going to knock our socks off – can’t wait ‘til he finishes his book.

 

David in Maine (as he refers to himself): The Haiku master and so extremely helpful to me with my blog. A real friend and all-around great fella. If you are looking for uplifting Haiku to brighten your day, check out Five Reflections.

 

Scott Morgan: Must, must, must check Scott’s blog and website, Write Hook if you are writing anything! Scott is my editor for my upcoming collection of short stories and he knows his stuff. If you find the words “damn, shit, hell or fuck” offensive, get over it. He’s a straight talker with a potty mouth and a brilliant mind and I love him to death. If you want an honest assessment of your writing, if you are looking to learn more about character building plus be entertained by his own great story-telling abilities, this guy is one to follow and his website is the place for you.

 

Elliot: One of my favorite English transplants, his blog, Brain Splats is entertaining, informative and fun. He is great to respond to comments and heck of a smart guy.

 

J. Scott Sharp: Jason is one of these guys that oozes nice and he has been supportive of me from the beginning. He’s published several short stories of his own and always has a kind word. A great fella to follow on Twitter by the way! I’m lucky to call him a friend! Please go by his blog at J. Scott Sharp.

 

Julie Frayn: Julie is a brainy chickadee who somehow manages to make grammar the sexiest thing going. She has a couple of WIPs in the works. I’ve had the pleasure of reading a couple of her short stories and wow – they are great! Find her at JulieBird.

 

Sean P. Farley: Another one of my earliest supporters and I’m one of his biggest fans! I love his honesty as a blogger, admitting when he needs a push to write and sharing those fears we all have as writers. He’s super talented and kind. Find him at Boulder Uphill.

 

Don Carroll: A poet who’s support has been unwavering. I can always count on Don for an assessment of my work and a kind word. Find Don and his poetic musings at Poetics- Cool Out of the Rafters

 

M.G. Edwards: World traveler and author – this guy is amazing! His blog, World Adventurers, is full of pictures and information you won’t get anywhere else – after reading one of his posts, you’ll feel like you’ve been where he’s been, walked where he’s walked!

 

Garden Summerland: Talk about a fresh breath of air. Garden is as lovely on the inside as she is on the outside, and what a writer! She’s got books available and then offers countless flash pieces on her blog, Flash Fiction Addiction, for everyone to enjoy.

 

 

Other bloggers to check out:

Read Between the Minds

My Tangerine Day

Legion Writer

Resurrected Writer

Clotildajamcracker

Dean J. Baker (brilliant poet!)

Single Again

Writerlious

Voice Deep Inside

Fiction Flood

Hasty Words

 

 

If I’ve left you out this round, please know I didn’t do it on purpose. I’m thankful to know all of you and so glad you take the time to stop by, read a post and comment. Thanks to each and every one of you for helping me reach a blogging milestone!

How about you? Any blogging moments or milestones you’d like to share?

 

(Images courtesy of Microsoft ClipArt)

 

42 responses »

  1. Sheila, you have no idea how much you just made my day. As a fellow mother, I know you don’t likely get the kudos you deserve, because, let’s face it, our kids aren’t about to warm fuzzy us about anything. So to open up a fellow blogger’s post and see such nice things posted about my blog was the best kind of treat of all. And not a calorie consumed in the process! I look forward to checking out some of the above blogs I don’t already follow.

    And for the record, I’m sure everyone on your list–and others–feel the same way about you, your blog, and your dedication to it.

    Thanks, Sheila!

    • Aw, so glad it made your day. And you are correct about the ‘warm and fuzzy’ business 🙂 lol And I always look forward to your blog posts – You may be a self-proclaimed introvert but you reach so many people with your posts! Thanks so much for the kind words and your support!

  2. sheila, this was an unexpected surprise as to you mentioning me, but not wholeheartedly – still it brought a good warmth through my body. it’s nice when another writer says that i am a poet. for years that had been my goal and certainly hearing it from you is a grand thing. thanx for the wonderful blurb for my blog as well. i promise to get over to carrie’s and all the others. things were quite hectic with the trip and all. for me i think this would be a great way to address those that have been to mine as well:))

  3. Wow, Sheila…thank you very much for the shout-out. Hopefully I can get back on some sort of posting schedule now that I’m about to wrap up my summer math classes. They’ve been a lot of work, but I can say that I’m currently at the highest state of algebra I’ve ever achieved.

  4. Thanks for the shout-out, Sheila! And a great big CONGRATS on your milestone! You hit it right on the head –it’s so wonderful to know what a vibrant community of writers there is here in the blogosphere.

    Keep up the great posts. 🙂

  5. Thanks so much, kind lady. If new folk might check out my blog I’d better get to writing a post! Somehow, with my current state of mind and coming to terms with my sister’s illness, I’ve not felt like blogging. But I do miss it, so will get at it this week!

    You and your blog rock too, Sheila. I love your prose, and even your poetry (though I’m a dolt about poetry that isn’t Seussish or whiffing of Ogden Nash).

    Keep it up, if not for you, then for the rest of us. 🙂

    • You know you’re one of my favorite bloggers in the blogosphere, and I know it’s been hard for you. I’m sending the kindest thoughts to you and your sister. I always appreciate your thoughts and I love your sexy grammar 🙂

  6. Sheila,
    You make being supportive, and being a friend, easy. I have never regretted a single day knowing you. Thanks for all of your support too and congrats on all of the page hits…we may need to talk LOL!
    I never get to talk to you as much as I would like anymore. I think I need to solve that. hahahaha!

  7. I should thank you in return for your fabulous blog. The blog community is great isn’t it? That we can find other people with similar struggles, or advice, or good fiction, or poems or funny, or all the other things.

    Thanks for the shout out. I’m not sure my wife will thank you for the “heck of a smart guy”, but only in a nice way 🙂

  8. Wow, thank you, Sheila! Congratulations on achieving a big milestone. Your posts are so thought-provoking, insightful, and excellent overall that it’s no surprise that your blog readership is growing. I know that even greater milestones are coming your way. I value your friendship and am honored that you thought of me and included me with some amazing bloggers. Their blogs sound very interesting, and I will have to check them out soon. Thanks for connecting us, and keep on posting great material!

    • Thank you and thank you for always sharing your amazing adventures with the rest of us! I’m so glad we’ve been able to connect through the blogosphere and become friends, and I always value your thoughts! 🙂

  9. Congratulations, Sheila! 🙂 May I join in the celebration? You deserve all the recognition you get…

    Here’s wishing you another 10,000 views in the near future! 🙂

    Greetings from Poland

      • No, but I love it when people from all over the world are able to interact this way 🙂 It makes this big ole earth feel a lot smaller… oh, and fruit punch is great!

      • No, but I love it when people from all over the world are able to interact this way 🙂 It makes this big ole earth feel a lot smaller… oh, and fruit punch is great! I’ve got to figure out how to get your blog to convert to English so I can actually read it 🙂

      • THANK YOU SO MUCH for the follow! 🙂 I’m already following you – I’ve got you in my blogroll and I’ve introduced you to my readers. Maybe those with a good command of English will come and see you 🙂

        Wish there was some way you were able to read my posts like everyone else. Since I’m new on WP, I don’t know if you can convert an entire blog from one language to another… Maybe we’ll find a way 😉

      • Please let me know if you find a way. I actually tried putting my blog through the Google Translator. I know they are not reliabe, but… While you CAN get the gist of what I’m writing about, the result is an insult to every decent Polish and English-speaking person 😉

        I also tried visiting the WordPress Translation Forums, but again: nothing. Maybe you will have more luck. As I said in your “About” section, I’d love to invite you to my Clearing… 🙂

        In the meantime, I may have a little surprise for you soon… I’ll let you know when I finish it 😉

  10. I love coming to your blog. When I’m away from the Internet for long periods, I come to your blog first when I return. Thanks for the love. 🙂

  11. Awww shucks Sheila!! lol. You’re quite amazing yourself! Love your perspective pieces… and you rock some flash too. Thank you so much for including me in such great company. I am honoured! You just really, honestly, TOTALLY made my night!!! 😀

    • Back at ya chick! Your dedication to the craft of writing is inspiring! Whenever I start feeling lazy about editing something I think, “Hmmmm, I bet Garden is working hard on something right now!”

  12. Sheila, Congratulations on the celebration of 10,000 views, and the hundreds of hundreds of silent eyes that have read your creativity on WordPress Reader or Google Reader! Everyone makes up a wonderful community.

    Thank you very much for the Shout-Out! I appreciate your friendship and support very much. You have plenty of wonderful interesting and creative supporters I enjoy reading their comments and posts as well.

    Keep your fingers on your keyboard of creativity, because you have a spark that will soon be glowing in the eyes of readers everywhere…. you are already experiencing this with 10,000 sets of eyes.

    There is a flavor of characteristics in your local surroundings that you capture well and spin back out onto a painted canvas of words, in a flavor very important to American Literature, in endless creative possibilities and formats.

    I appreciate friendship and that you enjoy my Haiku, but i’m just a novice hobbyist capturing reflections of nature and using the old accepted English Haiku format – those real ancient masters are fun to read often. imagine a frog jumping into the sound of water

    Enjoy your friendship!

    • I always look forward to your comments David and you know I appreciate your friendship, too! It’s an exciting time to be a writer, to be able to make contact and form friendships with people all over, especially one as supportive as you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

