Honey Drips

Standard

food,honey,jars,servers,dippers,healthy,nature

Honey drips onto the canvas of your watercolor life

Raw, sticky, messy – the more you try to wipe it away

The more spreads across your perfect image

 

Sweetness now surrounds, attracting the nuisance of flies

They look for places to light, drawn in

 

You make a fatal flaw, an admission of sorts, accidental of course –

Will they know what you really want?

 

Honey drips onto your lips in a dream that escapes to

the night’s freedom

Pleasing, needing, hungry – the more you try to forget

The more you remember

 

Will they all know it’s her you still think of?

One will.

 

 

Image courtesy of Microsoft Office Clipart

14 responses »

  1. Oh, what I wouldn’t do for just a fraction of your right brain, Sheila. And I mean that. My writing is a reflection of my dominant left brain. Not much abstract or symbolism to be found. This entry is really lovely.

    • Carrie you’ll never know what that means coming from you 🙂 I haven’t even read your book and I’m already a fan! I can’t wait til it’s available! You’ve made my day 🙂 thank you!

      • Well, you’re very welcome. To me, your writing is like the sweet, tactile sensation you get when chocolate melts on your tongue. And that’s as abstract as I can get. 🙂 (It always gets back to chocolate, doesn’t it?…)

  2. I was never a big fan of honey, so this brings to me a slightly different meaning than intended, which is what fun with words is all about. Which is not to say I didn’t like the poem because I did 🙂

    • Yes, I always say a poem is two parts: the intention of the poet and the interpretation of the reader. In those two parts combing, we find meaning, personal to the individual. Thank you always for your input! 🙂

  3. great piece sheila. i like how you conveyed the stickiness of the honey. it cerainly can be parlayed into a couple of different ways as i see it at first glance. definitely love the honey:)

Leave a Reply

