Empty Rainbow

Standard

clouds,horizons,nature,Photographs,rainbows,skies,skyscapes,weather

Restlessness dripping, as from a faucet that won’t shut off

You in your house of loved and unloved ones and me in mine

One day a reason will find its way to explain, won’t it?

Or is this the consequence, never attaining an understanding

 

Some would say we got off easy

“some” don’t know a damned thing, though

 

There is an ever-winding path that brings my thoughts

Back to you, against my will

Somewhere a bluesy voice sings a song about a rainbow, and

Finding a dream that comes true

Mine stands in the distance, over where you live;

Color washed away

 

Innocents die as I cry

Tears of selfish loss

I’ve got an empty rainbow

 

 

 

24 responses »

    • I get caught up in my own personal losses, no matter how significant or insignificant they may be to anyone else, and then I listen to the sobbing girlfriend of one of the victims in Colorado and my losses are so small. I guess this one was about perspective. I don’t know really, just had to get the words out.

  1. “…Restlessness dripping, as from a faucet that won’t shut off…”

    in my youthful days, no matter how quiet or how noisy it was in the house, i could hear those endless drips…. maybe the dripping sounds is comparative to the ‘princess and the pea’.

    “…Somewhere a bluesy voice sings a song about a rainbow, and
    Finding a dream that comes true…”

    i’ve listened to years of blues and like this.

    there is something about blues lyrics that the majority of the listeners have in common. definitely more in common, than the folks that define each day as, ‘uneventful’

    i like it
    David in Maine USA

      • I had not either, but as a subscriber to “Writers Digest” I keep getting random offers in the mail. Poetry looked interesting so I went to Barnes & Noble to check it out, then decided on a year subscription to that. From what I have read in it so far, some of the subjects covered and what not, I imagine you would like it.

        And once again, I enjoyed the poem.

Leave a Reply

