Letters in My Head, Now Available for Viewing: #3

Standard

1962

Possum:

You-uns need to be sure to come on over for the meetin next month. Folks are gonna have church dinner on the grounds and after that some of us and the preacher are gonna be a-meetin about the problem you told me bout. We got a plan to clean out the unwanteds round your way. They gettin a little close for comfort preacher says. Pleny’s wife has done gone and made us some covers and the preacher says he’s makin our group official with a cer’mony.

We ain’t got none of there kind in our county and we don’t plan to let it start now. Granny’s makin chicken and dumplins and chess pie. You-uns be sure to bring your kids – them boys about gettin grown by now I guess. Give Patsy my regards. Don’t go tellin nobody bout the meeting just yet.

Your cuzin Bill

11 responses »

    • Thank you 🙂 Some of my family lived in a place much like this, and I heard them speak this way many times throughout the years. The area was known for its extreme intolerance. If we don’t revisit history sometimes, we’ll forget. We should never forget.

  1. nice spin sheila. i liked the dialect as well. the you-uns has a wide variety of variables. like in pittsburgh pa it is you-ins. i like the tale as to church and such. i certainly believe those things existed.

    • I’ve heard relatives in a particular locale, which shall remain nameless, use this dialect as long as I can remember. And such things, sadly, did happen. Thanks for your comment!

      • sheila….i hear ya girl. between you and i, i’m not much of a fan of the organized religion anyways. it’s a long story on my end i could share with you via facebook. i do have a couple of new ones up. you will probably like the quarter bounce one better than the new one i posted tonight. if you get time that is.

  2. Short but interesting. Frankly, I’m not very sure just what level was the grammar of Southern folks at that time, but it seems pretty dead on with their dialect. Nice. I liked how the letter speaks of the author’s intentions naturally. There’s no twirling of mustaches here.

    • Well, some of my relatives are still using the word ‘you-uns’ – some things never change I guess 🙂 I like fictitious letters and wanted this piece to be a simple reflection of the times, as if the sentiment was as natural as discussing dinner, which I believe it may have been then for a select group. I thank you much for your comment and always for stopping by…

  3. you capture the flavor and historical initiation well! you have to love the name, ‘possum!’

    Pleny’s wife reminds me of Madame Thérèse Defarge.

Leave a Reply

