In This Room

Standard

Sometimes I like to play around with song lyrics. They aren’t my strength, and when I’ve written them in the past I’ve had a partner. So, for this Sunday night, I’m posting some that I’ve been playing around with. I don’t write music, but I hear a little melody sometimes in my head when I write – more or less just a beat to keep some kind of rhythm.

 V.1

We were both lonely, neglected at home

They didn’t mean to quit loving us,

We didn’t let them know

Time had separated all the good between familiar hearts

We needed to feel something, anything, besides apart

 

Chorus

In this room, where we let each other fall

Where the lines of wrong and right blurred into shadows on the wall

In this room, where we made broken promises

You said you loved me, but you never did…

In this room

 

V.2

The distance between two lovers, just a breath away

Hope was gone for the past now

In the love we made

You let yourself feel guilty, but I never could

I don’t regret loving you, even if I should

 

Chorus

In this room, where we let each other fall

Where the lines of wrong and right blurred into shadows on the wall

In this room, where we made broken promises

You said you loved me, but you never did…

In this room

 

Bridge

I look around and remember how you made love to me

For a moment, didn’t we both believe the fantasy?

 

Chorus

In this room, where we let each other fall

Where the lines of wrong and right blurred into shadows on the wall

In this room, where we made broken promises

You said you loved me, but you never did…

In this room

In this room

 

 

 

15 responses »

  1. “Where the lines of wrong and right blurred into shadows on the wall”–loved this line. Could be taken so many ways, which is the beauty of song lyrics–vague enough to be personalized to everyone who listens to them.

    Now for your next post, I expect a video blog of you singing this song…

Leave a Reply

