I Am a Mother

Standard

I’m a mother of sons. My oldest is quite tall for his age. He’s a very good boy. This isn’t motherly bias. Survey anyone who’s ever met the child. Not a bad word would be spoken against him. He’s kind to everyone he meets, considerate and thoughtful. I can’t take credit for his good nature, but I’m grateful for it.

I’ve always advised my sons to take up for themselves.  I’ve actually uttered the words, “If  you believe in your purpose, stand up for that purpose.”  My oldest son is in his pre-teen years, just a boy finding his way in a jaded world, where guilt is presumed by the very nature of an article of clothing. I fear this kind of world for my boys.

One day he will be 17, most certainly 6 feet tall. He may be walking along a sidewalk when an overly-eager, authority-seeking, but cowardly, armed man approaches him. I hope that isn’t the day he chooses to stand up for himself, to believe in his purpose. I would rather him run and live than be brave and die. On that day, I would be selfish and desperate and just be a mother who wants her son…to live.

A Word Uttered Cannot be Taken BackAfrican Proverb Quotes

My children listen to me…What shall I tell them now?

20 responses »

  1. We always think parenting will get easier as our children grow. It doesn’t. It just gets different. And in some ways, even more difficult. Thanks for a thoughtful post.

  2. Be open and honest with them, but not to freak them out. I call it sharing without scaring. They need to know what’s in the world, but not live in fear of it. A fine balance to be sure. If all else fails – bubble wrap them and tuck them under the bed. 🙂

  3. This is some heavy stuff. I do not have children (for many reasons, not necessarily mentionable here), but I can’t imagine what it is parents go through every day when seeing their kids off into the world. I even inquired about this to my Facebook buddies, asking how they feel when they drop their kids off to school. Do they worry? Do they miss them? The answers varied, but most, I’m sure, always fear for their children’s safety.

    • Sean, you have such a wonderful heart. I always love to get your thoughts. It is a heavy topic, but it’s been on my heart. I can’t function sometimes unless I get it out…the words eat me from the inside out…the feelings torture me. I know what you’re thinking – she’s one of those weirdo writer types – yep and I’m okay with that 🙂

  4. Can’t believe your sons are getting to the pre-teen years already! As mom of a teenager (16yo son), I think parenting gets harder…..driving, dating, deciding on colleges, etc….I just keep praying…..

  5. Having kids looks tough sometimes. I don’t know if parents ever really stop worrying even when their children are old and stuff. Your oldest sounds like a great kid. Maybe you’re more responsible for his good nature than you give yourself credit for 🙂

    The bubble-wrap idea seems a little questionable. I’d consider focus-testing on a sample audience to see if it’s a marketable concept 😉

    • My oldest is like an old man from generations gone by trapped in a kid’s body – lol. My youngest is a Tasmanian devil (I’m afraid I have to take credit for him). You got me cracked up on the focus group idea…visions of bubble wrap dancing in my head…

  6. That tired old adage really is true: when you have kids, your heart suddenly starts walking around on the outside of your body. I also have two boys and it is a daily struggle not to smother them with the weight of my worry. Nice to know we mothers (parents) are not alone.

    And thanks for following my blog!

Leave a Reply

