The Lucky 7 Meme: Oh My…

Standard

My writer friend Mike Schulenberg  has tagged me for The Lucky 7 Meme.  Thank you Mike! Oh, the  pressure!!!

These are the rules:

1. Go to page 77 of your current MS/WIP
2. Go to line 7
3. Copy down the next 7 lines, sentences, or paragraphs, and post them as they’re written.
4. Tag 7 authors, and let them know.

The idea is to share a bit of my Work-in-Progress and then you get to do the same….

(Here’s an excerpt from the first draft of my WIP, a paranormal thriller):

Sweating, gasping, fearful, he awoke…thankful it was just a dream. “Get a grip.”  Rough nights equal rough dreams, he supposed.

The worn couch he rested on was unkind to the injuries he suffered the night before. He should’ve taken Simon’s advice – that girl wasn’t worth it. But pain wasn’t the problem right now.  An unbearable itch forced him to claw his arms. It was maddening, as if a thousand hairy caterpillars were tunneling up his legs and arms, converging in his abdomen. Heat wrapped itself around his neck and face.  His gut churned. He reached the toilet to vomit something white, slimy and squirming.  Maggots?…How?…Why? His fear returned.

The dream…it was real.

Okay – so my little tidbit, as rough as it may be…and no it isn’t 7 lines, 7 sentences or 7 paragraphs, but it’s what worked for me to share 🙂

My choice for the next Lucky Seven:

1. Carrie Rubin

2. Sean P. Farley

3. Garden Summerland

4. Janine Caldwell

5. John D. Kenworthy

6.Emma Byford

7. Brandon Luffman

If you want to play and your WIP doesn’t have 77 pages, I’m sure 7 lines from page 7 will work out just fine! Okay, guys, your turn!

12 responses »

  1. Oh, my oatmeal for breakfast idea just went out the window… I love writing that makes me squirm – good job on that! Feeling a little retched (spelling intentional). 🙂

  2. Yes, you sure selected an appetizing section of your WIP. But I loved it and want to read more!

    Thanks so much for including me. This sounds fun. I’ll try to put something together next week. Oh, also, I just noticed my blog on your blogroll. Thank you so much! What a pleasant surprise. I really should get around to making one of those these days…

  3. Pingback: Why I Will Never Have A Bestseller « The Write Transition

Leave a Reply

