Facing Opposition

Standard

by Sheila Pierson

 

My hope is that those of you pursuing your dreams have an excellent support system around you. It can be damned difficult if you don’t. You mustn’t allow the naysayers to get you down or break your spirit. Some of the worst offenders can be family. One thing to remember is that they probably never realized their own dreams and in some convoluted interpretation of nurturing, they think they are helping you in some way. Or, you are no longer living according to the standards they set for you and it terrifies them. Either way, when faced with unsolicited advice or opinions from family and friends about how you should live, work and dream, stay true to yourself. If you don’t, one day you will look back on the path of your life and wonder why you didn’t at least try; you may question yourself for being afraid of not taking those chances that may have brought you the greatest blessings and joys or doubt your own tenacity, never knowing what you were really made of.

 

I’ll leave off with this:  If you always live to please others and to meet their expectations how will you ever know who you really are?

 

7 responses »

  1. I loved this post so much, I saved it to my favorites. This is how I lived my life for so many years–doing what I thought I should be doing, a lot of it based on others’ opinions. Thanks for a great post–one I plan to refer back to in those numerous times I ask myself, “Am I doing the right thing?”

  2. I love this post. It is SO TRUE. Now, don’t get me wrong, I have supportive friends and family. Make sure you read that carefully – “supportive” and “support system” are two different things. As much as my family and friends know about my “writing,” they’re hardly ones to ask for anything I’ve written, let alone KNOW about what I write. My partner, god love him, is a hardcore sci-fi NUT. I can’t stand sci-fi. My writing is contemporary, about relationships and the way people work. My writing is not for him. He’s SUPPORTIVE, but he couldn’t care less about my actual work. I think that’s why I’ve gravitated towards Twitter – I’ve met people like you who actually care about the process. Funny to say that my Twitter family is more of a support system than my real family (don’t get me wrong, I do love them!)

Leave a Reply

