Embrace the Shit Already…

Standard

by Sheila Pierson

Even if I’m not posting on my blog, I’m writing something. I tend to write better late at night. I write amazingly profound pieces after I’ve had a glass of Vodka, or at least it seems that way at the time. The next morning is my qualifier to that end.

Currently, I’m working on a collection of short stories. I am so excited to finally be putting this together. It’s amazing once a person reaches a certain stage of life they either realize what they’re supposed to be doing and go for it or they give in to conformity and give up. I’m going for it baby – all the way. I would rather fall flat on my face and wallow in a pit of failure than to be on my deathbed saying, “I wish I had…” 

For years I tried to fight this insane urge to put pen to paper. I listened to a lot of people I shouldn’t have, people who told me I needed a ‘real career.’ I’ve gained some life experience from listening to that kind of advice. What I needed was to recognize and embrace who I am. This is with any part of your life, not just writing or work. Embrace who you are.

I can’t explain this really, but I know when I’m about to have a period of creativity. This strange hyped up kind of anticipation hangs over me a couple of days, sometimes a couple of weeks before the purging of words ensues. That may sound as crazy as saying I listen to the voices in my head, but it is what it is.

For any of you who are young and wishful and lost to this craft called writing, don’t ever stop. Life may interject challenges you weren’t expecting but use them to your advantage. Take the shitty, awful things that happen and attach them to a character, manipulate the outcome any way you want, and claim some kind of victory over your situation. You are only limited by you – simply don’t limit yourself.

 

Leave a Reply

