Robes of Judgment

Standard

By Sheila Pierson

Don’t speak to me of Grace while your hypocrisy fills the room

With a stench of vile arrogance

Laughter echoes in my mind as I remember a time when we were

friends

No more and not ever again

Put your robes away when you speak to me

Hold your scriptures in your pocket

The verses of hymns no longer course through my veins

Like blood from Christian lullabies – only doubt remains;

Charity profits nothing from those who lie-

You lie to me as you lie to yourself.

Cast those stones in another direction

Or better yet, stop casting them at all

For who are you to judge, Oh man of God?

I laugh at this description

I laugh at your presumption of ethics

I laugh…until I weep

Leave a Reply

