Street Corner Philosophy by Taffy; arrests 3, pimps 1, freelancer currently

Standard

There’s an uprising happening inside me right now. It comes from that place we humans strive to understand but never will – the soul. It craves a new direction for my life and screams at me in the night like a child frightened from a brutal nightmare. Do I suppress it, as I have so many times in the past, continuing to play the role of a conformist? Do I accept that which doggedly chases me down and gnaws at my flesh until I finally give in to it? I am aware we never stay in one place. Even if we try to the forces of destiny and fate will push against us, molding and changing us like a river to the landscape. I am at the proverbial “fork in the road” and am reminded of Frost and his famous poem, “The Road Not Taken.” 

It occurs to me Frost never said if the difference from his less traveled road was good or bad. Perhaps it isn’t in choosing correctly but in the act of choosing. The soul won’t allow stagnation and we must either participate in this journey or be molded by the rivers of life by force. At least if I choose I can put on a life vest first and float a while.

Leave a Reply

